World Cup India Vs Sri Lanka: How Wankhede Stadium will act in WC match? Pitch report

Written Posted on

In the One Day World Cup, the 33rd match of the tournament will be played between India and Sri Lanka at Wankhede Stadium on Thursday, October 2. Team India would like to maintain its winning streak in this match. Team India won the title in the World Cup 2011 in this stadium.

This match was played between India and Sri Lanka. Where Team India won that match by 6 wickets. Once again both these teams are ready to play the World Cup match at the same venue.

Despite winning only two of their first six matches, Sri Lanka remains in the race for a semi-final berth. They had to face a crushing defeat by seven wickets against Afghanistan in their last game. The Sri Lankan team has faced defeat in its last five ODI matches against India. Which also includes an embarrassing 10-wicket defeat in the Asia Cup final in September. India, on the other hand, will be going into this game having registered an impressive win against defending champions England in their last match. The Rohit Sharma-led team is second in the points table with six wins from six matches. If Team India wins this match, it will become the first team to reach the semi-finals. Let’s take a look at the pitch here before this match.

Wankhede Stadium Pitch Report

The pitch of Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium favors big hitters in white ball cricket and big scores have also been made in the recent matches. In such a situation, a high scoring match is expected on Thursday. Short boundaries and batting-friendly pitch give the team batting first a good chance to score big. Batting first, South Africa scored a total of 399 and 382 runs in the two matches played here in this tournament. The bowlers get some help from the new ball in the second innings, so the toss will play a big role in the India vs Sri Lanka match.

Probable World Cup squads of both teams

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya (out), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan ( Wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera (wk), Kusal Mendis (c & wk), Sadira Samarawickrama (wk), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjay de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Mahish Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dimuth Karunaratne, Chamika Karunaratne, Dunith Velalez, Dushan Hemantha

Loading more posts...