Mohan Yadav to take oath as Madhya Pradesh CM; PM Modi, Amit Shah to attend ceremony

Mohan Yadav

Bhopal: Mohan Yadav is scheduled to be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh on Wednesday, with the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, and chief ministers from BJP-ruled states, among other dignitaries, according to a party official.

The swearing-in ceremony, set to take place at the Lal Parade Ground in Bhopal, will also witness the oath-taking of two deputy chief ministers, Rajendra Shukla and Jagdish Devda, as announced by the state BJP chief, Vishnu Dutt Sharma.

Before the inauguration, the 58-year-old Yadav paid a visit to a temple in Bhopal and offered his respects at the state BJP office, honoring the legacies of Pandit Deendayal Upadhyaya and Syama Prasad Mookerjee, founding members of the Jana Sangh and BJP.

Expressing his gratitude for the presence of leaders like Modi, Shah, BJP president JP Nadda, and various Union ministers and chief ministers, Yadav emphasized his commitment to focusing on progress in education, health, employment, and overall development in the state under the leadership of Prime Minister Modi.

The event is expected to draw attendance from prominent figures, including Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia.

The BJP, putting an end to days of speculation, selected Yadav as the new chief minister, denying Shivraj Singh Chouhan a record fifth term. Yadav, known for his association with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and belonging to the Other Backward Classes (OBC) community, secured unanimous support as the BJP legislative party leader.

The swearing-in ceremony marks a significant occasion for BJP workers, particularly those from Yadav’s hometown, Ujjain. The BJP won a substantial majority in the state’s assembly elections, with 163 out of 230 seats, relegating the Congress to a distant second with 66 seats.