Bhartiya Janta Party: History, Election Symbol of BJP, Works & Object

Bhartiya Janta Party

Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP): Along with the Indian National Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party is one of India’s two major political parties. Since 2014, it has been in power as the Republic of India’s government, led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The BJP is a right-wing political organization, and historically, Hindu nationalism has been reflected in the BJP’s policies. It is closely affiliated with the much older Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh ideologically and organizationally (RSS).

In terms of representation in the federal parliament and state legislatures, as of February 17, 2022, it is the largest political party in the nation.

The Election Symbol and Its Meaning

The “Lotus” has been the BJP’s official election symbol from its establishment, as recognized by the Election Commission of India. India’s national flower is the lotus. Therefore, there are several notable renditions of the BJP electoral emblem. First of all, the BJP uses the sign to denote a strong sense of national identity. Cultural nationalism is the term used to characterize the BJP’s political philosophy.

Read Also~GST: History, Definition | Goods and Services Tax Benefits, Types, Registration Process

To put it another way, the BJP upholds Indian cultural values. For instance, the BJP advocates against killing cows since they are revered as holy animals. Once more, the party defends India’s cultural cohesion by sharply criticizing the European concept of “secularism.”

BJP national executives

The following are famous BJP leaders who also serve as their national representatives:

  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee is the senior leader of the BJP and the organization’s founder. From 1998 until 2004, he served as India’s Prime Minister.
  • L.K. Advani, a well-known BJP-Advani member, headed the opposition in the 10th and 14th Lok Sabha sessions, respectively.
  • Currently serving as Union Minister of Home Affairs is Rajnath Singh, a former president of the BJP-Singh.
  • Nitin Gadkari, a former leader of the BJP, is presently serving as the transport minister.
  • Sushma Swaraj is the current Minister of External Affairs in the NDA-led government of India and a former Chief Minister of Delhi.
  • Arun Jaitley doubles as the finance and information minister in the present administration.
  • The current prime minister of India is Narendra Modi, a former chief minister of Gujarat. He is also a Varanasi-based MP.

Read Also~Zomato Limited: History, Stock Price/Stock Price NSE/BSE

Indian political party that is pro-Hindu founded after independence is known as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The party has received much support from the upper caste population, mainly from northern India. It has tried to win over people of lower castes, especially by appointing several of them to important party positions.