Aam Admi Party- The Worthy Competitor! Know AAP History, Objective & News Updates

Aam Admi Party

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP): Aam Aadmi Party came into the picture when there were quite a few disagreements between the party leader and founder Arvind Kejriwal and Anna Hazare over whether or not to politicize the anti-corruption campaign. Anna Hazare was opposed to the creation of any political party. As a result, Arvind Kejriwal, Delhi’s chief minister, leads the Aam Aadmi Party. It made its début in November 2012 and had a promising relevance initially.

AAP History:

The AAP’s origins may be traced back to a social movement against corruption and state degeneration that began on a fine morning in 2010 but gained traction in 2011 when the India Against Corruption campaign arose. In April 2011, a civil society movement arose as a backdrop of ticket corruption that came into existence during the reign of the UPA regime led by Congress.

The activists comprised of varied cultures had come together for the enactment of the Lokpal Bill as it remained stuck in the Parliamentary Committee for years.  Although Anna Hazare led the campaign, other prominent leaders were Manish Sisodia, Arvind Kejriwal, and Kiran Bedi. 

Such a failed attempt of the Jan Lokpal Bill by the government resulted in the formation of enormous corruption and massive exploitation. This led to the formulation of an anti-corruption movement towards a revolutionary political visionary named the Aam Aadmi Party. 

Read Also~Board of Control for Cricket in India: BCCI History, Evolution & Important Facts

AAP’s Bijli Pani Andolan was the first issue addressed in Delhi based on electricity and water bills. This immense support from the people helped the Aam Aadmi Party to flourish as a powerful political class in the existing society. Its entry into Indian politics drew numerous renowned people from all areas of life like Mallika Sarabhai, Sameer Nair, and Meera Sanyal.

AAP Key Members:

As of 2022, the following AAP members are the current leaders in houses –

Arvind Kejriwal Delhi Legislative Assembly New Delhi Delhi
Sanjay Kumar Rajya Sabha Delhi
Bhagwant Mann Punjab Legislative Assembly Dhuri Punjab
Venzy Viegas Goa Legislative Assembly Benaulim Goa

AAP in Punjab in 2017: 

When the AAP ran for the Delhi Legislative Assembly for the first time, it won 28 seats out of 70. It created a minority administration with Congress’s conditional backing.  Following the Delhi legislative assembly, the AAP fielded 434 candidates in the Lok Sabha elections. 

However, just four of its candidates were elected (all from Punjab). Following the electoral setback, AAP ran in Assembly elections in Goa and Punjab in 2017. While none of the candidates could win in Goa, it won 20 seats in Punjab.

AAP Objective:

The AAP’s victory in Punjab, as well, as their strategy to now target Gujarat and other states, prove that their ultimate goal is to take control of not just Delhi in the future but the whole country.

Read Also~Ashwani Gujral: Books, Biography, Family, Age & Latest Update

They can not be overlooked as a rising political force within Indian democracy. They primarily target Congress-ruled states and move on to other non-BJP-ruled states. By this time, they will have established a national presence and can become the going in lead opposition party in the Indian parliament’s lower house.

AAP has been an accurate model of a civil society movement morphing into a successful political organization since its foundation.